Thinley Norbu Rinpoche

Gypsy gossip has those chapters : Introduction, Aspects of spirituality, Karma, Birth control, Rebirth, Oriental teachers in the West, Teachers, Faith, Samaya, Dharma centres, Solitude, Change, Arrogance, Fear, Male supremacy, Women´s qualities, Bliss, The Seven-line Prayer of Guru Rinpoche, Dances of Eight manifestations of Padma Sambhava. We found this precious Dharma text around 1990  in the library of Dzogchen community in Merigar (founded by Chögyal Namkhai Norbu) . Some chapters were later re-published in our Mahasandhi magazine and sent to Kyabje Thinley Norbu Rinpoche to USA. On of very interesting chapters in Gypsy Gossip is about Rebirth.

2.1. Kyabje Thinley Norbu Rinpoche : Rebirth

Is the Buddhist rebirth doctrine the same for spiritual teachers and ordinary beings ? What about you ?  Buddhas are reborn effortlessly through a most powerful wisdom compassion. Bodhisattvas are reborn due to their great and powerful prayers and aspirations in previous lives. Ordinary beings are reborn simply as a result of their karma.

When great teachers are born, they unobstructedly manifest the wisdom compassion of the enlightenment mind of the Buddha through various appearances in whatever way will be of most benefit for the different faculties of sentient beings.

According to the tantric system when a lama or yogi has confidence in the realisation of fundamental wisdom, this realisation appears as a form of the deity. Through the power of this visualisation or pride as the deity and with the wish to be reborn, he can either  spontaneously enter the mothers womb, or through the visualisation of the parents as wisdom deity he can transfer his mind in the form of the deities seed syllable to the mothers womb, seen as the deities palace.

But ordinary beings are reborn due to the ripening of their karma. The root circumstance for rebirth is their attachment to samsara. The contributory circumstance for rebirth are clinging to the parents and the seeds produced through sexual union. But I myself do not think that I was reborn through unobstructed wisdom compassion or due to my great and powerful prayers of aspirations . From the beginning, although they were inherent in me, I did not recognise my father, great pure self-phenomena, Kuntuzangpo, and my mother, unchangeable gentle great voidness, Kuntuzangmo. So I could not suck the desireless bliss milk of my mothers breast. I couldn´t rest in her uncontrived natural smooth love lap,  nor could I discern my father´s skilful means love. Although this great parents constantly comforted me without  expectation, I separated from them and meet my bad influence playmate which is ego.

Exactly when my ego began, I don`t remember. Anyway, I did not recognise the unobstructed clarity of my wisdom mind , instead I saw all phenomena as separate from myself and I grasped at them as objects. I linked with them as a self-existing reality. When I saw good phenomena I grasped at them and created more desire and when I saw bad phenomena, I rejected them and created more aversion. This passions generated my karma. I, the subject, and my playmate the object, united and sought out more friends to play with. I meet the ordinary six sense consciousnesses ; the consciousnesses of seeing, hearing, smelling, tasting, touching and of mind. We wandered together in the turbulence of cyclic suffering, aimlessly producing garbage for schizophenic rats who dwell in the muck of samsara, roaming through cities for countless lives.

Afterword : At Buddha Dharma we translated Gypsy Gossip into Slovenian, adding creative Dharma work on CD-Rom of Vajra – Garuda e-Publications 2003 ISBN 961-91189-1-X

Rinpoche´s original text was published in the Crystal Mirror – Dharma publishing , Berkeley , USA. May the life of Kyabje Thinley Norbu Rinpoche – one of most accomplished Nyingma  Vajrayana and Atiyoga * Dzogchen Masters of our times and an emanation of Longchen Rabjam, be firm and secure for countless of kalpas.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinley Norbu Rinpoche

  1. Kim Saxton says:

    Hi, have been trying for a long time to get hold of a copy of this book, do you know where I can get it from? Think is out of print since a long time?
    All best wishes from NZ
    Kim

  2. ♫♥♫✿♥ OM SVASTI ♫♥♫✿♥
    This post comes from alive Dharma teaching at the Heritage of Mankind-
    Treasure of pure Dharma. May it be auspicious here, now and everywhere.
    Together we pray & meditate for inner and outer peace on the planet : thank you for studying & favoring Visual Dharmas, liking, sharing, commenting & embedding them – to bring peace on every place in this world.
    ✿⊱╮It is so auspicious to be connected to the Heritage of Mankind – Treasure of pure Dharma.

Leave a Reply

